Dear World: If you ever want to cheer me up, read this

Happiness is around you by FloraWhite on deviantART

Reflecting on today’s Daily Post daily prompt made me realize that my brain might be just a little bit strange.

Ok, maybe a lot strange. Or possibly just weird.

But hey, my brain is awesome. Sure, it gives me crazy mood swings, makes me depressed over the littlest things, is terrified of change, over-analyses things, and often hates people. But it is also pretty easy to cheer my brain up. My brain is a simple animal, and reacts to certain words like a housewife reacts to jewellery … “OHHHHH SHINY”!

So here is  list of words and phrases that can immediately put some sunshine into my day:

1. Anything in Latin, especially if it is sung by monks in Gregorian chant. Latin is awesome. Seriously, who wouldn’t want to listen to this?

In paradisum deducant te Angeli;
in tuo adventu suscipiant te martyres,
et perducant te in civitatem sanctam Ierusalem.
Chorus angelorum te suscipiat,
et cum Lazaro quondam paupere aeternam habeas requiem.

I can just hear ancient medieval bad-ass monks, nuns, or knights walking around with incense in a dusty convent in the early hours of dawn, dressed in cowls and carrying candles, worshipping God. Latin is just such a cool language. You can literally hear the history.

2. Anything in the language that my grandparents speak. Hearing their first language reminds me of home. I even love hearing swear words and curses. They remind me of my great grandfather, who used to swear at us great-grandkids in his first language all the time because he assumed we didn’t understand what he was saying.

3. Quotes from my favourite books, movies, and TV shows. Hearing a recognizable quote (preferably a humorous one) immediately transports me back to the story. Here are a few favourites (do you know where they are from?):

Curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal!

Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon, doesn’t mean we all have.

If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.

Aren’t you a little short for a storm trooper?

It was all because of his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great-great-grandfather!

4. And, of course, the one phrase that can always cheer me up is when a loved one e-mails, calls, or texts me some variation of these words: “Hi, are you free to hang out?”

 

9 thoughts on “Dear World: If you ever want to cheer me up, read this

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pick Me Up – Yesssssssss | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Mot juste… | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  3. Pingback: “You’re Strong.” | The Hempstead Man

  4. Pingback: Hey girl . . . : Daily Post | Destino

Leave a Reply

