Four Life Lessons I Learned from my Dad

In honour of Father’s Day, here are some life lessons my wonderful father taught me.

birch by robinhedberg on deviantART

  1. Knowledge is important.
    Growing up, I was always told how intelligent my dad was. He was great at math, and he always seemed to know everything. I wanted to be just like him. I was awful at math and science in grade school, but because those were my dad’s favourite subjects, I worked hard to learn them, and now I am a graduate student in science. He taught me that if you like something, even if you find it difficult, you can still learn and succeed.
  2. Hard work is always worth it.
    Sometimes, no matter how hard you work at something, you still fail. And I saw my dad go through his fair share of failures. Even with all the discouragement, he never gave up, and he never slacked off or procrastinated. If you have to do something, you might as well try your best, and if you do try your best, there is nothing anyone can say to bring you down.
  3. If you love someone, you are there for them, no matter how difficult it is for you.
    My dad has spent his life sacrificing for his kids and his family, is always there for his parents, and will take on extra work just to help the people he loves. He has been an amazing example to me on how to love others, and what the meaning of love is. Sacrifice. If you truly love someone, you are there for them when they need you most. Even if it means spending most of your adult life working at a job you don’t enjoy. Even if it means watching someone you love slowly waste away. Even if it means there is something else you would rather do, or somewhere else you would rather be. Even if you are tired, or sick, or miserable. If you can’t even be there for the people you love, then what can you possibly ever do for others?
  4. Don’t turn your back on your values just to make your own life easier. Be honourable, and stay true to yourself.
    Growing up, that was always my dad’s mantra. He always encouraged us to be true to ourselves, even if it meant being social outcasts at school. If we loved and respected ourselves, then there was nothing anyone else could say or do to us to convince us to be ashamed of ourselves. And he was absolutely right. I spend my life trying to live up to the person my dad knows I can be.
Leave a Reply

