Radio Host Demonstrates Why Feminism Is Still Important

I don’t know if I’m the only one, but often self-proclaimed feminists give me an unfavourable impression of feminism. Feminism seems dominated by a mob mentality, and seems filled with angry,  pearl-clutching women (the recent shirt-gate of Rosetta fame comes to mind). However, every once in awhile something happens that makes me think, you know what? Maybe there is a reason feminists are so easily offended.

I’m talking about the joke made by CFOX host Jeff O’Neil, who suggested guest host Chris Gailus ask Liberal leader Justin Trudeau whom he (Trudeau) would fuck, kill, or marry out of three prominent female Canadian political figures (Laureen Harper, Health Minister Rona Ambrose, and former governor general Michaëlle Jean) at a later interview.

Some are arguing that this was a harmless joke, a particular brand of comedy that not everyone will appreciate. I don’t know about my readers tastes, but I myself am pretty sure that jokes about killing women (or killing anyone, for that matter) aren’t funny no matter how you slice it.

But maybe thoughts about fucking, killing, or marrying people seem funny when you don’t view those particular people as human beings with dignity, value, and autonomy.

Kind of makes feminism still seem relevant, doesn’t it?

 

P.S. I’ve been away for awhile – this semester has been insanely busy! But now that I’ve seen the light at the end of the tunnel, I hope to post a bit more often. Already have a few posts in the works. Gosh, it’s great to be writing again.

5 thoughts on “Radio Host Demonstrates Why Feminism Is Still Important

  1. See I think feminists are too nice. They always reply to ignorant people with calm, logical arguments. Feminists are simply people who are anti sexism and oppression of women. Sometimes there are things worth getting angry over but they mostly just want to be treated as equals.

    • We must know different feminists, I would be SO happy if that were the case in my experience and the experience of my peers – you are so lucky! I find it’s hard to have moderate or reasonable ideas taken seriously when there are so many examples of feminists that have taken things too far.

      • Oh I know what the idea of feminism is supposed to be, but it is people that make up a movement, and a movement has a problem when the loudest people involved are unreasonable and refuse to listen to anyone who doesn’t toe the party line (which is my experience of feminism the movement, rather than feminism the idea).

        Anyway, I’m not saying feminism the idea has problems, but today, with the way feminism is often portrayed in the MSM and on social media, it can be easy to lose sight of the point and get lost in the drama. Events like this remind me that the drama should not be the focus, and that is why it is crucial for feminists who are focused on equality to continue to speak up until they drown out the noise. Otherwise the drama will continue to make people believe that feminism is useless, and that is a bad thing when the whole point of a movement is to enact social change! I plan to write a post on this at some point, but hopefully you understand my distinction! :)

        Overall, the point of the post was to say that statements like the one discussed show us that feminism still has relevance. I thought it was good to have a reminder of that!

      • Yes, I agree with your point. Feminists are fighting for rights so sometimes it is dramatic, and yes some of them are scary as with any group there are always radicals.

Leave a Reply

